The 2017 Official Nominees

The 6th Annual FACE Awards

2017 brings new categories and new nominees with over twenty-one categories for the community to vote. Some of the new categories include Chef of the Year and Inspiring Hero of the Year. Also included are two newly named awards, The ‘Jimmy Carper Trailblazer Award’ and the ‘Alexander Hill Humanitarian Award,’ both named after people from the Houston LGBT community.

The community is encouraged to vote for their nominee here. Official voting starts on Wednesday, November 1st at 8 PM.  Voting will go until November 8th. At that point, the winners will be sealed and not revealed until the FACE Awards ceremony at South Beach on Thursday, November 16th.

Volunteer of the Year

Paul Pettie

Audrey Natividad

Tanner Williams

Bill Baldwin

Entertainer of the Year

Angelina DM Trailz

DJ Melle Mel

Nina Lombardo

Morena Roas

Hero of the Year

Frank Billingsley

Zeph Capo

Iris Rodriguez

Toni Mascione

Activist of the Year

Ashton Woods

Monica Roberts

Kimberly Shappley

Melissa Vivanco

Bartender of the Year

Austin Abernathy

Chris Contello

Cesar Serrano

Natalie Brackin

Non-Profit of the Year

Houston Gaymers

Trans National Alliance

Avenue 360 Health & Wellness

Montrose Grace Place

Drag Illusionist of the Year

Angelina DM Trailz

Cyn Queen

Chloe Knox


LGBT Bar or Club of the Year

Michael's Outpost

Jr's Bar & Grill


Pearl Bar

Event of the Year

Mint Julep

Mystery & Fantasy Ball

Dessie's Drag Race

So You Think You Can Drag

Social Media + Blogger of the Year

Carol Wyatt

JD Doyle

Rich Lux

Joey Guerra

Elected Official of the Year

Mayor Turner

Kim Ogg

Dakota Carter

Constable Allen Rosen

Hair or Make-Up Stylist of the Year

Edward Sanchez

Mitchell Morris

Christian Vana

Spencer Morris

Designer of the Year

Chad Gore

Gin Martini

Evita Longoria

Nicholas Nugyen

Journalist of the Year

Shelby Jeffcoat

Joey Guerra

Henry McClurg

Brandon Wolf

Chef of the Year

Michele Free

Monica Pope

Adrian Perez

Jason Aguilar

Fundraiser of the Year

Bunnies on the Bayou

Houston HRC Gala

Tuesday Night Charity at Hamburger Mary's

Aids Walk Houston

Inspiring Hero of the Year

Dina Jacobs

Eric Edward Schell

Victoria Hellyer

Alexis Nicole Whitney

Alexis Nicole Whitney

2017 LGBT Trailblazer of the Year
The Jimmy Carper Trailblazer Award

Jack Berger

Bubba McNeely

DJ J.D. Arnold

Craig Henderson

Photographer, Videographer of the Year

Paul Strickland

Eric Edward Schell

Donald Trahan

Dalton De Hart

Community Theatre of the Year


Obsidian Theater

Catastrophic Theatre

Dirt Dogs Theatre

Athlete of the Year

Gilbert Vargas

Cindy Schaeffer

Julie Tyree

David Martinez